Skip to main content

Hubs for ARUA Vaccine Research and Capacity Building

UG – University of Ghana HUB

UI – University of Ibadan
UNILAG – University of Lago
OAU – Obafemi Awolowo University
UCAD – Université Cheikh Anta Diop

MU – Makerere University HUB

UN – University of Nairobi
AAU – Addis Ababa University
UDSM – University of Dar Es Salaam
UR – University of Rwanda

UCT – University of Cape Town HUB

UKZN – University of Kwa-Zulu Natal
RU – Rhodes University
SU – Stellenbosch University
UP – University of Pretoria
WITS – University of the Witwatersrand (alternate hub)

Vaccine Development Research Hubs

On December 1, 2020, ARUA launched its three Vaccine Development Research Hubs for Western, Eastern and Southern Africa.

The main purpose for the establishment of the hubs is to build capacity in the region for undertaking vaccine development research on a more sustained basis and within a permanent institutional framework through collaboration. Each hub brings together researchers from 5-6 universities working closely together while reaching across to the other hubs for collaborative research and capacity building.

The establishment of the Hubs follows the receipt of the first grant of $1 million from the Africa Regional Office of Open Society Foundations (OSF) towards setting up the eastern and western African hubs at Makerere University and the University of Ghana. This is to be used largely for the purchase of equipment for the two Centres that will coordinate their programmes.